Local Chapters

Maybe the most important benefit of being an IRTA member is your connection with others through our local chapters.

While our state office staff and committees work as your voice in the General Assembly and secure discounts on goods and services, our local chapters carry out our mission of volunteering for communities and advancing local education initiatives.

Our local chapters host meetings, have special events and activities, connect with local legislators and share friendships with other retired educators. Local chapters also coordinate and promote the IRTA Foundation's scholarships and teacher grants programs.

Local chapters are organized into area districts, which elect representatives to IRTA's Board of Directors. See below for additional information on local chapters. 


Contact Us

Area 1

Director: Jo Ann Manes

Local Chapter Presidents:
Kyle Wright - Jasper

Jo Ann Manes - Lake

Earl Cunningham - La Porte

Hugh Rettinger - Marshall

Daniel Keilman - Porter

Cynthia Franklin - Pulaski

Paula Heiser - Saint Joseph

Mary Powell - Starke

Area 2

Director: Sharon Barnes

Local Chapter Presidents:
Roberta Buroff - Allen

Angela Hose - DeKalb

Constance Schrock - Elkhart

Jill Beehler - Kosciusko

Sandra Kunce - Kosciusko

Richard Gregg - LaGrange

Pamela Sellers - Noble

Judy Hostetler - Steuben

Clay Geiger - Whitley

Area 3
Director: Charles Short

Local Chapter Presidents:
James Moyer - Clinton


Stephenia Barkman - Fulton


Michelle McAlpin - Miami


Ronald Scott - Newton


Larry Crabb - White

Area 4
Director: Brenda Walls

Local Chapter Presidents:
Peggy Bailey - Boone


Anna Long - Clay


Melissa Coon - Fountain-Warren


Sherry Gummer - Hendricks


Marilyn Spear - Montgomery


Sharon Tutterow - Morgan


Sally Simpson - Parke-Vermillion


Alan Zerkel - Putnam


Brenda Walls - Vigo

Area 5
Director: Don Metzger

Local Chapter Presidents:
William York - Hamilton

Michael Robards - Johnson

David Riley - Marion

Linda Milton - Marion-Franklin

Barbara Fengya - Marion-Franklin

Jerry Brown - Marion-Perry

Sheldon Hall - Marion-Warren

Ally Durfee - Marion-Wayne

Vicki Rose - Tipton

Area 6
Director: Linda Morris

Local Chapter Presidents:
Barbara Engle - Adams

Michael Tabor - Blackford

Lloyd Michael Tolle - Delaware

Charles Imler - Grant

Mark Vickery - Huntington

Karen Mettler - Jay

Jody Walker - Jay

Karon Kardatzke - Madison

Deborrah Swift - Randolph

Mary Toepfer - Wabash

Area 7
Director: Gerald Mohr

Local Chapter Presidents:
Lynne Fleming - Bartholomew

Daniel Jordan - Decatur

Ann Kirschner - Fayette

Susan Geesa - Hancock

Elgan Carter - Henry

Suellen Reed - Rush

Mary Comstock - Shelby

Teresa Jackson - Wayne

Barbara Walter - Whitewater Valley

Area 8
Director: David Lennen

Local Chapter Presidents:
Beverly Logterman - Brown

Alice Jones - Daviess-Martin

Marsue Ault - Greene

Terry Ave - Knox

Richard Inman - Lawrence

Joanne Weddle - Monroe-Owen

Area 9
Director: Jim Isaacs

Local Chapter Presidents:
Robert Harmon - Blue River

Linda Hays - Dubois

Sarah Sergesketter - Dubois

Steven Fritz - Evansville 

Joan Walls - Orange

Thomas Freeman - Perry

Calvin Biddle - Pike-Gibson

Stephen Grannan - Posey

Harold Robinson - Spencer

Nancy Shelton - Warrick

Area 10
Director: Mark Guard

Local Chapter Presidents:
Debra Reynolds - Clark-Floyd

James Pierce - Dearborn

Bonnie Koontz - Jackson

Betty Sbree - Jefferson

Raymond Gerkin - Jennings

Sara Pavey - Ohio-Switzerland

Lois Luken - Ripley

Doris Marcum - Scott

Rebecca Crane - Washington



©2020 Indiana Retired Teachers Association. All Right Reserved.